Two Newbros: A few gameplay questions

Generic non-balance topics.
guymandude
Level 1

Two Newbros: A few gameplay questions

Postby guymandude » Wed 28 Jun, 2017 2:55 am

A friend and I started playing this mod recently. We try to do 1v1s most days of the week for a few hours. We have a few questions.

My friend was main'ing IG for a while, against my CSM. He had serious issues whenever I got a dread out in T2. We looked at all his T1-T2 options, i.e. heavy weapons team, krak grenades on sentinels, T2 stormtroopers, etc. He wasn't happy with any of these options. In our tests, he said the heavy weapons team was the only thing that seemed to have enough firepower to his satisfaction, but it's a set-up team that isn't mobile. He didn't like this (I think he has a bias towards driving vehicles like tanks, dreads, etc - he was a tank spammer in CoH2 and didn't use ATGs, artillery, etc. I think he wants an anti-armor tank in T2, but he doesn't have one). At any rate...

1) What's the best way or ways to deal with a T2 vehicle (a dread) as IG in T2? Did we miss anything?

I'm the furthest thing from 'pro' there is at this game, so I'm sure this isn't a particularly good strat. But what I did against him was spam heretics with grenade launchers at him in T1, my rationale being that guardsmen are squishy, and that grenades should do good damage to them at range. This strat was successful and tended to bleed him pretty badly. He thus claimed that heretics were 'better' than guardsmen, had way longer range with the grenades, that there seemed to be an imbalance, yadda yadda. I tried to recommend a few things off the top of my head, like spam sentinels instead (I figured they'd bleed less as they are only 1 model, they have stomp + grenades, etc), try to dodge the grenades, etc. He was never happy with anything we tried.