Some exercises to practice for struggling or new players

Strategy and L2P topics.
KanKrusha
Level 3

Some exercises to practice for struggling or new players

Postby KanKrusha » Thu 15 Oct, 2015 2:28 am

I have been playing the game for many years and to be honest I have never been any good. Recently I decided to try and work on my micro skills and here are a few exercises that I came up with to work on my skills. I thought other players may find them helpful.

The aim is to forget about winning the match for one game and focus on only practicing these exercises. I suggest trying these out in 3v3s as no one will notice that you aren’t playing normally. To be honest my play has been better doing these exercises than when trying to win anyway!

Use cover in every engagement.
This is an extra exercise for really new players whereas the other exercises below are for players who know the basics but may have some bad habits. For a whole game, every movement order you make that is not a capping command must end with the squad in cover. In addition, every time your squads are shooting or being shot at move them into cover. Even if you think they will win the engagement you must move them into cover. Remember the aim of playing is to practice this exercise not to win the game. If moving into cover means moving too close then move back out of range to find cover. Even if it costs you the game, practice the exercise. You probably need to do this for 3 games till you get used to the idea of the importance of cover.

Queue up a movement command EVERY time you issue a capping command